The readathon begins!

The snacks are ready, the coffee is brewing, and the cats haven’t yet knocked over my pile of books. It’s time to go!

natp

I’m going to be starting with The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. I’m already half way through and enjoying it, so it seems a good one to begin with (is that cheating? Beginning with a book you’ve already started?). Ah well. Here’s the introductory quiz:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? England!
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? The Machine by James Smythe
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? Antipasti! Yum yum.
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I’ve spent the last four years researching depression. I’m now looking forward to reading happier things…
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? I’m looking forward to curling up on the sofa and doing nothing but reading.

8 thoughts on “The readathon begins!

  1. It’s not cheating! We just like reading and you to read! And hey, it’s pages read! And..I’m a cheerleader so that’s my official ruling! πŸ˜›
    I’m actually finishing two books, apparently I haven’t finished reading The Catcher in the Rye the last read-a-thon! πŸ˜†
    I don’t know the book you’re reading, but I’m going to look it up on GoodReads ^_^

    Already feel great affinity with you/your blog, first thing I see is a lovely header with a beautiful cat (gorgeous!) and the opening sentence “the coffee is brewing, and the cats haven’t yet knocked over my pile of books. ” I can relate! Mine have tried, though πŸ˜›
    If your cats do knock over your pile or do something totally un-catlike like, say, sleep on books ( πŸ™„ ) during the read-a-thon and you post it to twitter or instagram you can use the hashtag #catladiesofreadathon! I’ll be checking that regularly! πŸ˜€

    • Hurrah! Glad it’s not cheating. It’s encouraging to have one book finished so early on.
      The cats have abandoned me at the moment, but I need no encouragement to tweet pictures of them if they return! Cats and books are a perfect combination.

      Good luck with your reading!

  2. This is my first readathon and I have to say that I love it! Although, I kind of wish I’ve been reading happier books. πŸ™‚ LOL I just finished reading Legend by Marie Lu which was GREAT BUT it’s not exactly the happiest book. Now I’m reading the Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison but I’m already feeling like…oh man…another sad one. lol I need some hope in my life! πŸ™‚

    I think it’s soo cool that you’ve been studying depression for the last four years! Can I ask why? Are you a graduate student? I’d love to know more of what inspired you to do so! πŸ™‚

    Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

