Readathon 2013

Readathonbooks

I haven’t picked up a book since submitting my phd thesis two weeks ago. Okay, that’s not quite true. The day after submitting I carried a whole suitcase filled with books back to the library. But I haven’t read a book since submitting. And I can’t even remember the last time I read a novel. Given this, the idea of spending 24 hours doing nothing but reading (and probably some sleeping. Because sleep) sounds both wonderful and terrifying. But mostly it sounds like a fantastic way to get back into reading and finally make a start on all those books that have been taunting me during the writing up process.

So today I signed up to Dewey’s 24 hour read-a-thon and spent the rest of the day making preparations for the event. I’ve bought a huge amount of snacks, made sure we have plenty of tea and coffee in the house and, well, started this blog. I’ve put together a pile of books that I’ve been meaning to read (seen above, being inspected by Ianto the cat). I think I’ve got a good range – enough to keep my attention over the day. Obviously I won’t be able to read them all, but it should give me plenty of choice. My husband (who blogs at Words of Mercury) is going to be keeping me company in the readathon and I’m already eyeing up his pile of books (he’s got Stefan Zweig’s Chess, which I’m pretty sure I’m going to steal).

The readathon starts in the UK at 1pm tomorrow (oh, how I wish I lived in the US so could start in the morning…). I haven’t yet decided whether to aim for the full 24 hours, or to take a break and sleep overnight (let’s face it, I’m probably going to sleep). Either way, I hope this will kickstart me back into reading again. Wish me luck!

9 thoughts on “Readathon 2013

  1. Good luck! I’ve never managed the full 24 hours without a nap but it’s great fun trying. And I’m sure you’ve been told already how brilliant The Machine is 🙂

  2. So many congratulations in order here! Congrats on finishing up your thesis!!! Congrats on starting this blog! And congrats on joining Dewey’s Read-a-Thon! You shall have ever so much fun–it’s impossible not to! 😀 (Sorry about all the exclamation points–the read-a-thon always gets me a little over-excited.)

  3. Sounds a great way to launch your new blog, happy readathoning. I always find it a wonderfully indulgent way to re-affirm my love of books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

